David Duvenaud awarded 2022 Sloan Research Fellowship

February 15, 2022 by A&S News

Congratulations to David Duvenaud, assistant professor in the U of T Department of Statistical Sciences and the Department of Computer Science, for being awarded a 2022 Sloan Research Fellowship.

The annual fellowships are given to early-career researchers in Canada and the United States who the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation recognizes as individuals “whose creativity, innovation and research accomplishments make them stand out as the next generation of leaders.”

“I'm honoured,” says Duvenaud. “And I’m grateful that this will help me continue to spend my days working in this field with my brilliant colleagues and students. I hope to repeat the trick of bringing tools developed in other fields — such as numerical computing — to bear on problems in deep learning."

Duvenaud and Jacobson are among five U of T recipients for 2022 and join 78 other U of T faculty who have received the honour since it was established in 1955.



Sloan Research Fellowships awarded to Computer Science’s David Duvenaud and Alec Jacobson

February 15, 2022 by Chris Sasaki - A&S News

Prestigious Sloan Research Fellowships have been awarded to David Duvenaud and Alec Jacobson, both assistant professors in the Faculty of Arts & Science’s Department of Computer Science.

"Through his deeply insightful research in machine learning, David has demonstrated the power of radically disruptive ideas,” says Marsha Chechik, chair of the Department of Computer Science. “His neural network research has had a lasting impact, catalyzing new areas of inquiry, and advancing the state of the art in areas from medical imaging to computational chemistry. He is richly deserving of this recognition.

"Alec has made outstanding contributions to the area of geometry processing,” says Chechik, “and it has been exciting to witness the impact of his prolific research across a range of fields, from architecture and structural engineering to art and theatre. He has paired his research with a deep commitment to mentorship and leadership in both the Department of Computer Science and the geometry processing community more broadly. My sincerest congratulations on this well-deserved recognition."

Read the full story.