2024 IMS Fellows Announced

May 31, 2024 by Kal Romain

The Institute of Mathematical Statistics (IMS) has announced the 2024 IMS Fellows. Among the 34 researchers listed, are two of our esteemed faculty members at the University of Toronto‘s Department of Statistical Sciences, Piotr Zwiernik and Lei Sun. The IMS fellowship is awarded to individuals who have made significant contributions to the advancement of statistics or probability, or who have demonstrated excellence in leadership that profoundly influences the field.


Piotr Zwiernik, the Associate Chair for Research, has been recognized for “outstanding contributions to the theory of graphical models, exponential families, multivariate positive dependence, and dedicated editorial and organizational service to the profession.”


Lei Sun, serving as the interim Associate Chair for Graduate Studies, has been honoured for “important contributions to statistical genetics, including developing new theories and methods that have enabled scientific breakthroughs in understanding the genetic basis of disease, and for exceptional contributions to leadership and training in collaborative research.”


For 90 years, the IMS fellow designation has been a tradition that underscores the high standards of excellence and dedication expected of leaders in the field.


Please join us in congratulating Piotr Zwiernik and Lei Sun on their well-deserved recognition as 2024 IMS Fellows, marking another notable milestone in the University of Toronto's rich history of academic excellence.