James C. Hickman Scholarship

Society of Actuaries

The Society of Actuaries James C. Hickman Scholar program was established to increase the number of academic actuaries who hold a PhD and an actuarial designation, and who intend to pursue academic careers in the United States or Canada. The program is designed to provide stipends to doctoral students who will, through their studies, address research and education needs of the profession, including both the theoretical and practical aspects.

The program was named to honor James C. Hickman (deceased), FSA, MAAA, ACAS, and former dean of the University of Wisconsin–Madison School of Business. During a 40-year academic career Hickman made numerous contributions to teaching, research and scholarship, including co-authorship of the Actuarial Mathematics textbook. He also served the profession, including as a member of the SOA Board of Governors and trustee of the Actuarial Foundation.

More Information:

Hickman Scholars Program